Book Review: Domestic Abuse

Domestic Abuse

Recognize, Respond, Rescue

by Darby A. Strickland

P & R Publishing

Christian

Pub Date 30 Apr 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Domestic Abuse through P&R Publishing and Netgalley:

Domestic abuse takes many forms, often starting with one spouses need to dominate and control the others. This is a prevalent problem and Christian marriages are no exception. This books helps to answer the questions how can concerned family members , and even counselors know how to recognize it.

Oppressed spouses become isolated and dominated over time. They begin to feel trapped with no way out.

This brief book is great for anyone who fears they may know someone who is in a situation of Domestic Abuse.

Four out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Advertisements

Book Review: Paris By the Book

Paris by the Book

A Novel

by Liam Callanan

PENGUIN GROUP Dutton

Dutton

General Fiction (Adult) , Literary Fiction

Pub Date 03 Apr 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Paris by the Book through Dutton and Netgalley:

Robert Eady am eccentric novelist abruptly vanished leaving his wife behind as well as their daughters, a clue in an unexpected place, plane tickets to Paris.

Trying to uncover clues Leah decides to head to France with their girls hoping to find clues of where her husband may have went. Upon her arrival she finds a manuscript, one she had not even known he had been writing, the novel had been set in Paris. The Eady women follow the path of the novel to a small, floundering English language bookstore whose owner is ready to sale. Leah is surprised to hear herself accept the offer on the spot.

The family is settling into their new Parisian life and find themselves tracing the literary paths of some Parisian Classics, including Madeline and the Red Balloon, hoping more clues arise. A series of startling discoveries makes Leah realize she may not be as ready to solve the mystery as she thought she was.

I give Paris by the Book five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Cecily Neville (Mother of Richard the III

Cecily Neville

Mother of Richard III

by Dr John Ashdown-Hill

Pen & Sword

Pen and Sword History

Biographies & Memoirs , History

Pub Date 30 Apr 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Cecily Neville Mother of Richard III through Pen and Sword and Netgalley:

Though no one can be certain Cecily Neville was believed to have been born on May.3 1415 at Ruby Castle. It is believed too that she was the youngest of the twenty two known children of Ralph Neville who was the first Earl of Westmorland.

It is said that Cecily gave birth to twelve children but not all of them survived!

Richard is believed to have been born in February or March of 1441/2

It is rumored that Cecily has been known as the Rose of Raby because of how beautiful she was as well as her birth at Raby Castle, another nickname was said to have been Proud Cis because she was said to have been vain as well as having a fiery temper, but that is only speculation. Her life is in-fact shrouded in mystery.

It is known that Cecily was the Matriarch of the York dynasty. She lived through a tumultuous time and lived to see the birth of the future king Henry VIII. She saw the house of York defeat their Lancastrian cousins to watching the defeat of her own son Richard III, at the battle of Bosworth, as well as seeing one of her own granddaughters become Henry VIII Queen Consort!

I give Cecily Neville five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: The Family At No.13

The Family at Number 13

by S.D. Monaghan

Bookouture

General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 27 Apr 2018

I am reviewing a copy of The Family at Number 13 through Bookouture and Netgalley:

Sometimes perfect lives can hide the deepest, darkest most devastating secrets!

Mary is beautiful and rich she lives in a house on an exclusive street with stunning views and an immaculate garden from the outside everything looks perfect but it isn’t.

Things are different behind closed doors. Her husband Andrew rarely even talks to her, preferring to spend his days alone down in the basement. She has a teenage nephew who is full of rage, he lashes out with warning. Her life that she so carefully constructed is coming apart.

Before long someone starts sending Mary anonymous notes threatening her and her family.

Everyone has secrets but someone at No.13 has secrets that could leave all the family in danger!

I give The Family at No 13 three out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Worlds of You

Worlds of You

Poetry & Prose

by Beau Taplin

Andrews McMeel Publishing

Poetry

Pub Date 22 May 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Worlds of You through Andrews McMeel Publishers and Netgalley:

This is a beautiful collection of poetry from Australian Poet and Social Media Star Beau Taplin:

Worlds of You is a beautifully compiled collection of poetry dealing with the many emotions and aspects of life. The words are filled with lyric and wisdom and written from the depths of the heart.

Beau Taplin offers wisdom and heart as well as insight and comfort in this beautifully written collection of poetry.

Five out of five stars !

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Blind Betrayal

Blind Betrayal

by Nancy Mehl

Bethany House

Bethany House Publishers

Christian

Pub Date 17 Apr 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Blind Betrayal through Bethany House Publishers and Netgalley:

Martin Avery wants to tell his attacker’s that he is a good son and helps to care for his Special Needs Sister. He is angered, he is a good man so why is someone out to hurt him?

Deputy u.S Marshall Casey Sloanne has been working at the St Lois Marshall’s office for a couple of years when she is given a routine assignment helping to transport a reporter Valerie to D.C to testify in front of a Grand Jury. The reporter had been a story about an up and coming environmentalist who disappeared, and later discovered whose backers may have ties to terrorism.

This seemingly ordinary assignment suddenly takes a shocking turn, Casey must put her own feelings aside about the unexpected reappearance of a man from her past , as she and the other two marshals take Valerie on the run. Soon it becomes apparent her testimony has more dangerous implications than they knew.

Can they all make it out alive?

Find out in Blind Betrayal!

Five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Cross Your Heart

Cross Your Heart (Detective Jess Bishop Book 2)

by Kierney Scott

Bookouture

General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 25 Apr 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Cross Your Heart through Bookouture and Netgalley:

Special Agent Jessica Bishop finds herself handcuffed in a box, folded over into the fetal position.

Days before Special Agent Jessica Bishop begins looking into three cold cases in which girls go missing, while investigating she finds a disturbing link between the three missing girls. She is determined to find out what happens and fights to reopen the cases.

In each case the kidnapper left a small bag of candy where he had taken the three girls.

When a fourth child is taken this time from a hospital room, once against small bag of candy was left in the room in place of the child. Jessica knows right away it’s the same kidnapper.

As the pressure to solve the case pushes Jess and her team to the breaking point, Jessica takes a risk she may come to regret but she really has no choice Ava will only get sicker out of the hospital.

Can Jessica save Ava before it’s to late?

Find out in Cross Your Heart!

Five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: The Girl With No Name

The Girl With No Name (Detective Josie Quinn Book 2)

by Lisa Regan

Bookouture

General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 19 Apr 2018

I am reviewing a copy of The Girl With No Name through Bookouture and Netgalley:

Detective Josie Quinn is shocked and horrified when she is called into the house of a Mother who has her newborn snatched right from her eyes.

A girl who flees the scene is her only lead unfortunately the girl has no memory of who she is and can’t offer much help.

Detective Josie Quinn does not know whether the girl is a witness, a suspect or the next victim.

A letter about a mix up at a fertility clinic comes to light as Josie delves into the case. A letter that links the nameless girl to killings across the county.

Josie must decide if she should risk this child’s life to save the life of others, or can she save them another way?

If you like on the edge of your seat suspense you will love The Girl With No Name.

Five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Growing Down

Growing Down

Unlearning the Patterns of Adulthood that Keep Us from Jesus

by Michael Kelley

B&H Publishing Group (B&H Books, Holman Bibles, B&H Español, and B&H Kids)

B&H Books

Christian

Pub Date 01 Apr 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Growing Down through B&H Books and Netgalley:

This book helps to answer the question what does it mean to be an adult? Individuals and cultures answer these questions differently.

For Christians though we know the world needs grown ups now more than ever. But if being grown up is about self sufficiency and being reliant on ourselves, but the gospel tells us to not to grow up but to become more like a child in our need for the Lord.

Jesus reminds us that maturity comes when we are able to enter Heaven like a little child. Instead of Growing up we as Christians should strive to grow down.

I give Growing Down five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better

Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better

by Madisen Kuhn

Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books

Gallery Books

Poetry

Pub Date 01 May 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better through Gallery Books:

In this collection of poetry and Prose Popular Millennial Instagram poet Madisen Kuhn shares a powerful collection of poetry and prose that would be enjoyed by many, but is perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur. If you have someone in your life who has left their teenager years behind and is beginning to learn to navigate through adult life this book would be perfect for them as well.

This book deals with the many emotions of a millennial, the joys, sorrows, happiness day confusion. It’s about Self-Discovery, as well as Self Reflection.

I give Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!