Dad I Can Still Smell Fried Chicken

 

 

Dad

I can still smell

Your fried chicken

I swear you made the best!

And Buttered popcorn

On the stove.

 

I can still hear

Time in a Bottle

And Bad Bad Leroy Brown

Playing on that Black Stereo,

Back when Stereo’s still had record players.

 

Dad

I remember

Sunday afternoon rides

In an old yellow station wagon

Full of kids

Only two your own

The rest were the neighbors.

 

 

Dad I remember

Spring Hikes

And Summer dips

In the lake

sitting in the back

Of your old beat up

Orange truck.

 

 

Dad I remember

Book stores

And ET 

I wore the tape out

So many times

You ended up

Buying three.

 

Dad 

I remember

That old Nixon Camera

And those photographs you use to take

Always admired your ability.

 

Dad

I remember

Discussions on poetry,

And why you write

And why I write too.

 

Dad 

I remember

And I love you.

 

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

June.20.05

1:45 A.M

 

From your Rugrat 😀

Leave a Reply

