Cleansing Tears

What is it about tears that make us automatically think about weakness? 

Reading in 31 Days to Overcoming Adversity by Joni Eacreson Tada, I realized that she struggled in the early days after her accident with something so many of us struggle with.

Crying.

What is it about tears that make us automatically think about weakness?

Jesus himself cried, so why is it so hard for some of us, even some of us who are Christians to Cry?

I admit I have this struggle from time to time myself.

Crying true tears should not be something we are ashamed of, the Bible tells us “There is a time and Season for Everything Under the Sun.”

A time for joy, but also a time for tears

We want to live in the joy all the time, and we do when we live in the Lord, but perhaps joy in the Lord is different than the way Joy is for the world, in fact I dare to say the World does not know true Joy because they do not know the Lord.

Laughter is healing, but I believe tears can be too.

I am not talking about the constant crying and whinning, because we don’t have what the Jones have, bu I am talking about something much deeper, the tears that come from struggling truly struggling, and in those moments of great struggle we have no choice but to call out to our Savior.

My best friend, the sister of my heart was a strong woman, but one night as we stood by her car, we cried together.

At the time it had not even been a year since she had lost her leg, but that was not what her tears were about, they went so much deeper than that, she had tears that steemed from past abuse, but she had tears that went from loosing ones we loved.

She is in Heaven now, and I find myself even after a year and a half crying tears for her loss.

Does that mean I wish her back to a world filled with dialysis machines, prostetic legs, and constant suffering no, but it means there are times I miss her, we were and are sisters in Christ, and I find comfort in knowing we will be reunited again.

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

July.19.08

image

Leave a Reply

