Healing Hilarity

The Bible reminds us that laughter is a good, even a blessed thing, we are not meant to sit around feeling bad, suffering from a case of the why me syndrome, just like there is a time for laughter there is also a time for tears the bible says this in the book of Proverbs: 

 

The Lord gives us laughing moments to help us get through the moments of grief, and as I was thinking on the subject of humor, of laughter and how the Lord blesses us with both I was reminded of the summer of 02 when my Friend, her young son and I took our first real adventure out of California, to Georgia to go and visit my good friend Melissa, we had been pen pals and online buddies for about the year and after much prayer and thinking it over the Lord spoke to my heart and said it was time I go, and Nonna who wanted me to go as well, which that in itself told me this was something I needed to do, but I digress I was reflecting on memories and I found myself smiling, even laughing as I remembered Fran, Mikey and I standing at a small bus stop, waiting for Melissa to come and get us, and Fran who knew Melissa was an amputee, and was blonde, but really did not know what else to look for kept running outside every time a car pulled up, looking for blonde hair and someone with a prosthetic leg, it was quite a site, a young woman with an almost two year old in tow running out the door, staring at women with blonde hair, then staring at all who were wearing shorts, to see if they had a prosthetic leg, I sat inside the bus depot, not wanting to be embarrassed, I was kind of cowering on a hard bus bench, as Fran came back in, and I once again pulled a picture out, and said “This is what she looks like” I was embarrassed at the time, but as we relieved the story with Melissa we were all nearly rolling on the floor laughing.

The Bible reminds us that laughter is a good, even a blessed thing, we are not meant to sit around feeling bad, suffering from a case of the why me syndrome, just like there is a time for laughter there is also a time for tears the bible says this in the book of Proverbs:

Proverbs 17:22

Currently reading : 
Humor for a Woman’s Heart: Stories, Quips, and Quotes to Lift the Heart (Humor for the Heart) 
By Various 

 

22 A cheerful heart is good medicine, 
but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

 

Philippians 1:4

4In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy

I love to laugh, it is not only good for the Spirit, but for the body as well, I have seen the physical change in a person who knows how to laugh, and I am not talking about laughing over some stupid show on television that glorifies everything that the good Lord stands for, but true laughter, is a gift from God:

Psalm 126:2

2 Our mouths were filled with laughter, 
our tongues with songs of joy. 
Then it was said among the nations, 
“The LORD has done great things for them.”

I want to here more of Godly laughter in the world, I enjoy getting together with my Christian friends walking down memory lane, and laughing at the silly things we did before, and when I think of the laughter, it makes it easier for me to deal with the loss of the people in my life who were called home before I was

Ecclesiastes 3:4 reminds us

4 a time to weep and a time to laugh, 
a time to mourn and a time to dance.

I think the Lord delights in our laughter, the way a Mother or a Father delights in their Child’s laughter for the first time, that first laugh is a milestone in an infants life, and it is a reminder of the way true laughter should be and when we take the time to converse with the Lord, to not only come to him when we are hurting but when we are happy and full of joy and laughter the Lord delights in that.

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

October.07.2008

Leave a Reply

