Memories That Sustain Us: Help Runaway Wheelchair

  
Save    
Become a Fan 

In many ways Melissa’s attitude reminded me of Job, despite her darkest moments, she considered to serve the Lord, even when she was to sick and to weak to go to church she stayed close with Jesus, and even in her weakest moments, she taught us to embrace life, and to spread a little laughter. She could have dwelled on all she had lost, but she cherished each day, to her very last. 

 

 

 

 

I find myself once again remember my friend Melissa, and how easily the Lord can give us laughter though the grief, I still can not help but laugh at this memory.

One night Melissa, Dale, Cody, Fran, Mikey and I all loaded into Melissa little blue car, Fran and I were trying to be careful, so we thought we would load Melissa’s wheelchair in the car, something she had to use from time to time, because of the sores her prosthetics left, but she did not let that stop her, she lived her life to its fullest from dancing to dirt biking, to just embracing the gift of life, but I do not think what happened that night was an adventure any of us planned on taking part in.

I remember we were on a country road, I believe Dale was driving, Fran and I in the back street with the boys, who were buckled into their seats, when suddenly we heard something fall, and from the corner of our eyes, realized we had made a big mistake. We had not latched the trunk properly, and on one of the turns, the chair fell out, thankfully we were on a back road, and it was still daylight, in what seemed like an instant, the car was pulled over and the chair was being chased.

Melissa could have been mad about what was happening, but both Fran and I were relieved when we heard her contagious laughter, soon we were all laughing.

In many ways Melissa’s attitude reminded me of Job, despite her darkest moments, she considered to serve the Lord, even when she was to sick and to weak to go to church she stayed close with Jesus, and even in her weakest moments, she taught us to embrace life, and to spread a little laughter. She could have dwelled on all she had lost, but she cherished each day, to her very last.

I am reminded of the verse Job 8:21

21 He will yet fill your mouth with laughter 
and your lips with shouts of joy. 

The Lord gives us laughter even in our weakest moments, and for that I will give him praise

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

November.08.2008

Leave a Reply

