When I Think of Our Friendship

For Melissa:

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I think of our friendship

I think of the laughter we shared

The tears we cried

I think of boiled peanuts

And Monopoly 

At your kitchen table

I think of letters written

And times shared.

I think of all the love

And the prayers.

I think of the tears we cried

When it was time to leave

And the letters you wrote

To thank us for coming.

I think of all the times

You were there when I needed you

An ear to listen

And a whispered prayer.

When I think of our friendship

It feels more like a sisterhood

That bond that connecting us

From day one

Sisters of the Heart

That’s what we called

Ourselves from the start.

When I think of friendship

I think of the way

Even your family

Welcomed me in,

And how could I forget

You and Fran trying to teach me to

Dance.

When I think of friendship

I think of the happiness

And the sorrow

And everything in between

Because that’s exactly

What our friendship means.

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

Feb.13.06

Leave a Reply

