A Spiritual Slap On the Face

but as I heard what he was preaching I realized that I was not exactly following the word in some issues, so the message hit home and made me reexamine myself, which is a good thing, I think there are times we all need to do that. 

Did you ever feel as if you needed a spirtitaul slap on the face? I know I have, and I must remind you, be careful what you pray for because you might just get the answers LOL. Anyway the sermon today from Reverend Gary Sapp, of Monroue Louisiana, a Guest Pastor that came to our little hometown of Sonora spoke on the messages from 2 Kings 4, but as I heard what he was preaching I realized that I was not exactly following the word in some issues, so the message hit home and made me reexamine myself, which is a good thing, I think there are times we all need to do that.

2 Kings 4
The Widow’s Oil 
1 The wife of a man from the company of the prophets cried out to Elisha, “Your servant my husband is dead, and you know that he revered the LORD. But now his creditor is coming to take my two boys as his slaves.” 
2 Elisha replied to her, “How can I help you? Tell me, what do you have in your house?” 
“Your servant has nothing there at all,” she said, “except a little oil.” 

3 Elisha said, “Go around and ask all your neighbors for empty jars. Don’t ask for just a few. 4 Then go inside and shut the door behind you and your sons. Pour oil into all the jars, and as each is filled, put it to one side.” 

5 She left him and afterward shut the door behind her and her sons. They brought the jars to her and she kept pouring. 6 When all the jars were full, she said to her son, “Bring me another one.” 
But he replied, “There is not a jar left.” Then the oil stopped flowing. 

7 She went and told the man of God, and he said, “Go, sell the oil and pay your debts. You and your sons can live on what is left.”

The price of Gas was an issue he brought up today, but the Lord spoke something through his message to me, he reminded me that I needed to trust him in all issues, and I needed to tithe and give my offering, for some reason that is something I have always struggled with, but I realize now that I am not exactly believing he will provide if I am not doing that, besides doesn’t the word tell us to render to Ceasar’s what is Ceasar’s and to God what is God’s.? Of course it does, and yet I was not exactly applying those scriptures to my life, and I am prayerfully working on that now, even as I sit here writing this blog I am examining my heart, and I made a step today, not only to tithe, but to give more in the way of offering, my first step is signing up to sponsor a child through Mission of Mercy, which is something I believe will not only benefit the child but will benefit me spirtually.

Reverend Gary Sapp left us with these words for thought

“God will always give you more than enough, if you live by the book.

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

May.25.2008

Leave a Reply

