Guiding Our Destiny

I am reading this wonderful book by Jenifer Rothschild called Self Talk, Soul Talk and am being deeply touched by what I am reading, the words speak to my very heart.

I am constanlty on the hunt for good books, that speak to both the heart and soul, books I can use in the bible studies Lisa and I take part in.

“Our self talk actually begins to shape the life we live, affecting our very destiny.”  (Rothschild 13)

Powerful right?  What we think of ourselves, what we tell ourselves can affect our very destiny, not to mention the fact that I am sure that if we are constaly throwing ourselves a pity party or thinking of ourselves in a negative way, I am sure God must frown, after all we were created in his image, the difference is from the moment sin came into this world so did negavtive thoughts.

Rothschild brings up the point that we need to monitor what we tell ourselves, and when we turn to the Lord and the word for our thoughts, Rothschild calls that soul talk.

“Our soul talks can change the contents of our thought closets.” (Rothschild 15)

I am reminded often when I let my thought closet get filled with negativity the importance of filetering what I read, what I write.  I learn the importance of watching what I take in and I try to live in faith.

“When you speak truth to your soul, you’ll live out the truth.  Your soul talk can really help it become true with your soul.”

David knew the importance of listening to his Soul talk, as he wrote the psalms, in Psalm 57 he writes:

Psalm 57
For the director of music. To the tune of “Do Not Destroy.” Of David. A miktam . When he had fled from Saul into the cave. [a]
 1 Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me, 
       for in you my soul takes refuge. 
       I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings 
       until the disaster has passed. 
 2 I cry out to God Most High, 
       to God, who fulfills {his purpose} for me.

 3 He sends from heaven and saves me, 
       rebuking those who hotly pursue me; 
       Selah 
       God sends his love and his faithfulness.

 4 I am in the midst of lions; 
       I lie among ravenous beasts? 
       men whose teeth are spears and arrows, 
       whose tongues are sharp swords.

 5 Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; 
       let your glory be over all the earth.

 6 They spread a net for my feet? 
       I was bowed down in distress. 
       They dug a pit in my path? 
       but they have fallen into it themselves. 
       Selah

 7 My heart is steadfast, O God, 
       my heart is steadfast; 
       I will sing and make music.

 8 Awake, my soul! 
       Awake, harp and lyre! 
       I will awaken the dawn.

 9 I will praise you, O Lord, among the nations; 
       I will sing of you among the peoples.

 10 For great is your love, reaching to the heavens; 
       your faithfulness reaches to the skies.

 11 Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; 
       let your glory be over all the earth.

We can allow our thoughts to be clouded with what we see and hear, and often in this day and age is hurtful and damaging to both our self talk and our soul talk, so we need to learn to listen to what the Lord speaks to us, open our hearts up to Him, and not be focussed on everything else.

“We have borrowed unbecoming beliefs from other people and hung them in our thought closests.  We have grabbed clumsy consideration and careless charecterizations and made them part of our wardrobe eventhough they didn’t come close to fitting.” (Rothschild 23)

As an author I must be even more dilligent about watching what comes in and what goes out, I need to make sure what I write matches what I believe, and not compromise my relationship with the Lord in anyway.

“Your words can contribute to your vitality or they can begin your demise.  They can build up, or they can tear down.  That’s why they must be gracious and autortative.  (Rothschild

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

November.03.2008

Leave a Reply

