Maybe It’s Not All About Bloodlines

 

I was there the moment you were born

Crying your way into this world,

You touched us so deeply

The moment I held you in my arms

So small

So fragile

Yet so full of life

And future,

I knew one day

I wanted to have a child of my own

Watch them amazed at every first

Their first cry,

Their first smile,

Like I got to see

So many of your firsts,

The first time you cried

The first time you smiled.

I remember your first day of preschool

Just a little over a year ago,

And now you are four

Discovering new things

Meeting new people

Testing your boundaries

And I am amazed as I watch you grow.

 

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

April.08.05

Leave a Reply

