He Broke the Bonds of Sin For Me

In Church we sing a song that goes something like He broke the bonds of sin for me, he set me free.And Christ has set me free, he has set me free from the ways of the world, because once we truly live for him, we loose the desire for the ways of the world, because Christ in us overpowers the evil that surrounds us.

When Christ is in us, the world no long matters, and we find ourselves living a new life in him. A life that is better than any life without him, and we are promised an eternity in Heaven should we give our hearts to him. I really didn’t understand what this meant until that day I gave my heart to Jesus over nine years ago. There are certain things in your life that you can never forget and for me one of those moments was giving my heart to Jesus, and suddenly my life began to change and for the better. I emerged from the shy self conscious young girl with low self esteem to a young women who was gradually becoming more sure of herself, because I was begining to understand who I was through Christ Jesus.

In Amazing Grace, the Hymn that is known often even by Non Christians we hear that the song writer was once Lost, but now is found, was blind, but now sees. It is a Hymn that rings true to many in the Christian Faith, because we go from being aimless to having a direction in Christ Jesus, from being blinded by the things of God to begining to see those things.

In John 3:16 we are told that God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believes in him should not Perish but have everlasting life. That is a promise from God, and none of God’s promises can be broken, so it is important that we stess this point, it was this truth I learned about when I first became a Christian, and even before then in the Bible Studies that I went to before I became a Christian. God’s word was true , and I was seeing that and his promises were real, the Sacrifice Christ made on the Cross was not just some fairytale it was reality, and I began to understood that if I accpeted Christ into my life I would be promised Eternal Life.

In the Psalms David says Taste and see the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him.After I gave my heart to the Lord and the bonds of sin, fell free I found myself seeking refuge in Him, and I have to say David was right, the Lord is good, he is righteouss, he is everything we could never be, and that is why it is important for us to seek him and find him. We need to call it to him in our times of need, and we need to praise him, not only in the good times, but in the difficult times as well, like Job did. 

I know not all of us have the strength of Job, but as we read on we find the strength really was not Job’s that in fact he got the strenght from the Lord.

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

June.15.05

Leave a Reply

