Are You Quick to Offend

When we are holding on to an offense, we are going to to need to repent, because the good book tells us we need to forgive, and when we are holding onto unforgiveness we are going against what the word tells us. 

I am starting to do a Bible Study on John Bevere’s series Bait of Satan, a friend and I study the Bible together once a week, and we find that this time helps to grow us closer to Christ, I felt the need to reach out to this particualar friend who does not feel comfortable in a large crowd of people, so I find myself doing these weekly Bible Studies, and for this week I decided to start on the Bait of Satan:

As I read the fist chapter of Bait of Satan preparing for Thursdays Bible Study, I realize how relevant the first chapter was.

Are we quick to offend?

I admit sometimes I am, I have left churches because I was offended, hurt in a deep way, but perhaps I should have prayed over the decision more. I am currently praying over a decision that will once again allow me to work with children, this time I am praying for a place with the teens.

Why?

Because I feel that is something I need to do, but working with teens you can’t really be easy to offend can you?

In Timothy 2:24-26 it says;

24And the Lord’s servant must not quarrel; instead, he must be kind to everyone, able to teach, not resentful. 25Those who oppose him he must gently instruct, in the hope that God will grant them repentance leading them to a knowledge of the truth, 26and that they will come to their senses and escape from the trap of the devil, who has taken them captive to do his will.

In this life we are going to be offended and to be brutally honest we are more likely than not going to offend others perhaps we are not setting out to do so, but their is a reason the Bible tells us to guard our tongues.

The best way to combat the pain thast holding on to an offense is to forgive.

Sometimes that may be easier said than done, but the fact of the matter is that it is necessary.

In Revelation 3:14-2 it says

14″To the angel of the church in Laodicea write:
These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation. 15I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16So, because you are lukewarm?neither hot nor cold?I am about to spit you out of my mouth. 17You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. 18I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see. 19Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest, and repent. 20Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

When we are holding on to an offense, we are going to to need to repent, because the good book tells us we need to forgive, and when we are holding onto unforgiveness we are going against what the word tells us.

A friend and I were talking online the other day, as children and teens we had suffered abuse at the hands of those we loved, my Father used to touch me in inapporiate ways, but from the early daya as a Christian the Lord gave me the Grace to forgive my Father, I will always in a small way carry the scars, but the scars certianly do not define me, and amazingly my Dad and I have a faily good relationship today.

I have friends who wonder how I could forgive such a great offense, but if Jesus died for our sins, and suffered our pain, why should I hold onto the offense?

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

June.23.2008

Leave a Reply

