Book Review: Crown Anthology

Crown Anthology

by Lost Poets

Andrews McMeel Publishing

Poetry

Pub Date 18 Sep 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Crown Anthology through Andrews McMeel Publishing and Netgalley:

This book includes 100 voices and two hundred poems. But there is one underlying message, the message being every soul being royal.

In this anthology we find some new verse from some of the most prominent poets on Instagram, with a foreword by Tyler Knott Gregson one of the foremost authors of the movement.

The poems in this book celebrate self-love, self-worth and empowerment, these two hundred poems do just that. This collection offers a beautifully diverse set of voices.

I give Crown Anthology five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Advertisements

Book Review: Taking The Arrow Out of the Heart

Taking the Arrow Out of the Heart

by Alice Walker

Atria Books

Atria / 37 INK

Poetry

Pub Date 02 Oct 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Taking the Arrow Out of the Heart through Atria Books and Netgalley:

Alice Walker was originally going to entitled this new collection of poetry The Long Road Home:

Alice Walker reminds us that many archers are waiting in the shadows on the long road Home.

The Long Road Home is dedicated to the memory of Muhammad Ali:

This book is presented in both English and Spanish:

This timely collection of nearly seventy works of both passionate and poetry that deals with the troubled times. The poems in this collection not only chronicle the troubled times but also chronicle a life well lived.

These poems cover everything from self inquiry, to celebrating the simple things like baking frittata’s.

I give Taking the Arrow Out of the Heart four out of five Stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Prayers for A Woman’s Heart Creative Devotional

Prayers for a Woman’s Heart Creative Devotional

by Compiled by Barbour Staff

Barbour Publishing, Inc.

Barbour Books

Christian , Nonfiction (Adult)

Pub Date 01 Oct 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Prayers For A Woman’s Heart Creative Devotional through Barbour Books and Netgalley:

This Creative Devotional is the perfect tool for your personal Bible Study, or a woman’s Bible Study Group, along with the devotions are pages you can color.

With subjects such as The Gift of God’s Light, as well as learning to trust the Lord even in times of doubt. We are reminded of the importance of rejoicing , as well as following the ways of Jesus.

We are reminded too that we need to that we need to have compassion for others. We are encouraged too to have a confident hope. And reminded that we need to grow in love and knowledge.

This devotional encourages us to share the light. We are encouraged too to trust in God’s power even when he’s silent.

I give Prayers for a Woman’s Heart: Creative Devotional five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Dead End

Dead End

by Rachel Lynch

Canelo

General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 08 Oct 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Dead End through Canelo and Netgalley.

After the seventh Earl of Lowesdale is found hanging from the rafters at Wavesdale Hall, everyone assumes that this aging hard partying aristocat committed suicide, after tiring of chasing the glory of his youth. After the coroner finds sounds of foul play it is realized this is not the case, soon DI Kelly Porter is brought into a world where secrets and lies dominate.

During that same time, two hikers end up going missing and Kelly leads the search. Digging deeper ends up revealing ties to two other disappearances that have gone unsolved. Kelly and her team end up in a race against time.

All roads as well as Kelly’s own family secrets leads to Westdale Hall. Making it become more important than ever for Kelly to find the devious secrets hidden behind the walls of the most exclusive estate in Lake Distric.

I give Dead End five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: The Barefoot Woman

The Barefoot Woman

by Scholastique Mukasonga

Archipelago

Biographies & Memoirs , Multicultural Interest

Pub Date 11 Dec 2018

I am reviewing a copy of The Barefoot Woman through Archipelago and Netgalley:

This book is a beautiful and moving tribute to a Tutsi Woman who did everything in her power to protect her children from the Rwandan genocide, the story is told by the daughter who will not let her families story be forgotten.

In this haunting work of art Mukasonga is able to preserve her Mom’s voice.

I give Barefoot Woman five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Becoming Brave

Becoming Brave

How to Think Big, Dream Wildly, and Live Fear-Free

by Tracey Mitchell

Emanate Books

Christian

Pub Date 04 Sep 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Becoming Brave through Emanate Books and Netgalley:

This book shows us that a Courageous life does not come about accidentally, that we have to cultivate that life.

Having a brave life means we choose to be bold and not cower in defeat. Author Tracey Mitchell shows us an innovative, fresh approach to intentionally living a life that is both courageous and meaningful.

This book encourages us to think big, dream wildly, and to live without fear.

Mitchell points out too that the journey to becoming brave often lands us and the intersection of indecision and determination.

The author goes on to remind us that God loves answering prayers of faith, performing the impossible as well as fulfilling his daughters secret dreams.

We are reminded too that women.of faith don’t always start out without fear, that sometimes a worrier must evolve into a warrior.

Tracey Mitchell reminds us too that women can be both feminine and fierce, one does not cancel the other out.

If looking for approval we are encouraged not to look around but to look up.

We are reminded that the enemy most often uses betrayal to steal our courage.

It is pointed out too that it is not uncommon for friends to become rivals when dreams start to flourish.

We are reminded too that God has an epic role for all of us to play the question is will we choose to stand up for the audition.

People who are bravehearted have a way of empowering the timid to face the giants that look terrifying.

It is pointed out too that loving someone who has betrayed our trust takes a great deal of courage.

We are reminded too that if we do not intentionally map out our dreams someone will map them out for us.

Mitchell goes on to point out that though the enemy cannot read your mind, he can read our reactions.

It is pointed out too that we must learn to listen to what the Lord is saying when he is saying nothing at all.

We are reminded too to not always reach for a sword when someone picks a fight.

It is pointed out too that God never shortchanges his daughters.

It is pointed out too that God did not call us to hide our faith and live cozy comfortable lives, that instead he calls us to be brave.

I give Becoming Brave fight out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Moments till Midnight

Moments ’til Midnight

The Final Thoughts of a Wandering Pilgrim

by Brent Crowe

B&H Publishing Group (B&H Books, Holman Bibles, B&H Español, and B&H Kids)

B&H Books

Christian

Pub Date 01 Sep 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Moments till Midnight through B &H Books and netgalley:

In 2 Timothy, Paul’s letter reflected on the passing of his life, saying it was like a vapor. Paul was a Pilgrim passing from this life to the next.

In this book author Brent Crowe retells the last twelve hours of Paul’s life, from the perspective of Paul, using his imagination.

In this book the readers will be encouraged to live with purpose, to redeem the rinse and to embrace the reality we are on a sacred journey.

I give Moments till Midnight five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review:Phoebe

Phoebe

A Story

by Paula Gooder

InterVarsity Press

IVP Academic

Christian , Religion & Spirituality

Pub Date 04 Sep 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Phoebe through InterVarsity Press and Netgalley:

Around 56 AD Paul wrote to the church in Rome, entrusting the letter to Phoebe, he described Phoebe as the deacon of the Church at Cenchreae and a Patron of many.

Who was Phoebe though? Not much is known about her.

In this book well known author and speaker Paula Gooder imagines what Phoebe could have been like in this historical novel. She imagines what it must have been like to be a woman of faith in the first century.

I give Phoebe five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: St Paul’s Labyrinth

St Paul’s Labyrinth

The explosive new thriller perfect for fans of Dan Brown!

by Jeroen Windmeijer

Harper Impulse and Killer Reads

Killer Reads

General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 31 Aug 2018

I am reviewing a copy of St Paul’s Labyrinth through Harper Impulse and Killer Reads:

University Professor Peter De Haan doesn’t have a clue of the dangers that are waiting for him when he attends a library event. A part of the library collapses revealing a tunnel. In the tunnel is a naked man whose cowering and covered in blood. Peter receives a text message after discovering the tunnel and the man, the text message reads the hour has come.

After Judith, Peter’s colleague disappears, he discovers he has been drawn into a deadly plot, deadlier than he could have ever imagined. Peter only has twenty four hours to find her or she will be murdered.

Will Peter be able to save his Colleague Judith? Will he put himself in harms way?

I give St Paul’s Labyrinth five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!

Book Review: Mornings With Bonhoeffer

Mornings with Bonhoeffer

100 Reflections on the Christian Life

by Donald K. McKim

Abingdon Press

Christian , Religion & Spirituality

Pub Date 02 Oct 2018

I am reviewing a copy of Mornings With Bonhoeffer through Aningdon Press and netgalley:

In Mornings With Bonhoeffer we will get a deeper understanding of his theological beliefs and perspectives, allowing us time to reflect on what his thoughts could mean for Faith and the Christian experience.

This devotional of sorts includes short excerpts and from his sermons, along with daily devotions, these offer timeless reminders of God’s love.

I give Mornings with Bonhoeffer five out of five stars!

Happy Reading!